image preview


The digital images were donated to Eastern Washington University Libraries by the National Smokejumper Association.

Document Type


Creation Date


Date Information



A group portrait of the crew for the McCall Smokejumper base.

Front Row (Seated): Harry Haynes, Thad Duel, Harvey Harden, Craig DeSilvia, Clarence Teichert, Mike Steppe, Borden Short, Steve Marshall, Ken Salyer, Bill Yensen, Bill Weaver, Jim Tracy, Dave Austin.

Middle Row (Kneeling): Ed Guy, Dale Schmaljohn, George Smith Bob Montoya, Bill Strawn, Horace Cordova, Ken Wilder, Jim Freeland, Pat Burtch, Pat Carney, Lester Rosenkrance, James (Smokey) Stover, Bill Payne, Del Catlin, Carl Rosselli.

Back Row (Standing); Brent Wynn, Reed Shinn, Mike Daly, Loyle Washam, Tim Hawkes, Ken Smith, Bill Rawlings, Ken Hessel, Bill Thompson, Dick Terry, Earl Schott, John Rasmussen, Layton Smith, Skeet Aiken, Lynn Sprague, Wes Schroeder, Bob Donnelley, Jim Lancaster, Ray Beasley, Fred Rensmeyer, Steve Carlson, Bob Tomlinson, Dick Estes, Max Allen, Wayne Fletcher, Guy Hurlbutt, Wayne Webb, Steve Wilcon, Bill Beasley.

Missing: Harry Clark, Jim Crockett, Dean Davis, Dick Graham, Glenn Hale, Gene Hobbs, Tommie Johnson, Larry Moore, Benney Ortiz, Richard Peterson, Stan Ramsay, Bob Rawlings, Al Stillman, Bruce Yergenson.


Archives and Special Collections, Eastern Washington University Libraries.


Users are responsible for assessing and/or securing use permissions. For further information, contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.

Use Permissions

Eastern Washington University has not been able to identify the copyright holder and considers this an orphan work. If you have information about the rights holder, please contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.


Smokejumping -- United States, Smokejumpers -- United States -- McCall Ranger District (Idaho)