

Student Research & Creative Works Symposium

2024 EWU Student Research and Creative Works Symposium

Acknowledgements

Symposium Sponsors

EWU Academic Affairs

Spokane Teachers Credit Union

Special Thanks

President Dr. Shari McMahan

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Jonathan Anderson

Dean of CAHSS: Dr. Florian Preisig

Dean of CSTEM: Dr. David Bowman

Dean of CPP: Dr. Martha Raske

Multi-Media Commons: Carl Combs and his Team

University Advancement: Barb Richey and her Team

Transportation Services: The whole Team

Event Services: Tom Shaffer and Samantha Stragier

PUB: Michelle Schultz

McNair Scholars Program

The Office of Grant and Research Development

The Writers' Center

EWU Libraries

Spokane Teachers Credit Union

For their generous donation and continued support

And Our Highest Thanks

To all the students, mentors, faculty & volunteers who have continually worked to make the Symposium a success.

If you would like to contribute to the Symposium Foundation, please contact the Symposium Office at symposium@ewu.edu

Please make checks payable to EWU Foundation for Student Research & Creative Works Symposium

Symposium Committee

The mission of the EWU Student Research and Creative Works Symposium is to promote student research, scholarship, and creative activity done in partnership with faculty and staff as a vital component of higher education. Students, faculty, administrators, dignitaries and the community-at-large are invited to attend, hear and discuss undergraduate and graduate creative and scholarly work.

2024 Symposium Committee Chair: Justin Otto

2024 Symposium Committee Members

- 1. Rahmah Alsabahi
- 2. Lynn Briggs
- 3. Rebecca Clark
- 4. Rob Davis
- 5. Kevin Decker
- 6. Greg duMonthier
- 7. David Early
- 8. Gail Forsgreen
- 9. Robert Gerlick
- 10. Thomas Hawley
- 11. Awlad Hossain
- 12. Ginelle Hustrulid
- 13. Jonathan Johnson

- 14. Krizstian Magori
- 15. Jonathan Middleton
- 16. Justin Otto
- 17. Pete Porter
- 18. Chad Pritchard
- 19. Michelle Schultz
- 20. Thomas Shaffer
- 21. Julia Smith
- 22. Leslie Swannack
- 23. Christina Valeo
- 24. Heather Veeder
- 25. Kristyne Wiegand





As one of eight federally-funded TRiO outreach and student services programs, the goal of the TRiO Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program is to increase the attainment of PhD degrees by students from first generation underrepresented segments of society. Eastern's McNair Scholars Program prepares eligible participants for successful doctoral studies by providing opportunities for research or other scholarly activities including summer research internships, tutoring, academic counseling, seminars, and other educational activities designed to assist participants in securing admission to and financial assistance for doctoral enrollment. McNair research

EWU's Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program

Fostering Excellence and Inspiring Awesome interns work closely with a faculty mentor to produce a scholarly research project and present their findings at a conference.

This research expectation has created an ongoing partnership between McNair and EWU's Symposium, which was first organized in 1997 by EWU chemistry professor Dr. Jeanne Small. The 1997 Undergraduate Research and Creative Works Symposium consisted of 16 total oral presentations (9 were McNair scholars); 12 poster presentations (4 McNair Scholars) and two musical were performances. In 2001, McNair Director Dr. Karen McKinney (now retired) took over coordination with the support of Dr. Ron Dalla (now retired) and the help of a graduate assistant. Dr. McKinney coordinated the event through 2005 in Monroe Hall, by which time the Symposium had grown to 145 presenters. The Symposium was moved to Senior Hall in 2006, and since then the event has grown to become a marquee event on campus.

Since the first EWU McNair grant was funded in 1995, McNair has worked closely with Eastern faculty to build a research center community where students thrive. Our quest is to continue this partnership with EWU McNair Faculty Mentors, staff, and administrators and continue the transformation of our students.

Since its inception, over 50 EWU McNair Scholars have earned doctorates, over 200 have earned master's degrees, and 62 are currently enrolled in graduate school. Of those enrolled, 38 are in PhD programs.