image preview


The digital images were donated to Eastern Washington University Libraries by the National Smokejumper Association.

Document Type


Creation Date


Date Information



A group portrait of the crew for the McCall Smokejumper base.

Front Row (Seated): Borden Short, Harry Haynes, Jim Rathbun, Ken Salyer, Max Allen, Miles Johnson, John Magel, Bob Rawling, Gordon Livingston, Horace Cordova, Bill Weaver, Bill Wakeman, Clarence Tiechert, Dave Austin, Ed Guy.

Middle Row (Kneeling): Bob Beaubier, Sam Dafler, Dick Graham, Ken Hessel, Thad Duel, Mike Steepe, Bill Strawn, Skeet Aiken, Dean Davis, Dick Terry, John (Woody) Spence, Loyle Washam, Bill Yensen, Dave Rosgen.

Back Row: Larry Looney, Tom Johnson, Del Catlin, Carl Rosselli, Pat Daly, Bob Donnelley, Gene Hobbs, Mike Daly, James (Smokey) Stover, Del Hessel, Laurence Shipman, Lester Rosenkrance, Dale Schmaljohn, Ron Gibbens, Harvey Harden, Bill Beasley, Wes Schroeder, Bill Lurrmann, Jim Tracy, John Rasmussen, Bill Payne, Jerry Wicks, Benny Ortiz, Ken Wilder, Jerry Costello, Earl Pederson, Wayne Webb, Larry Moore, Howard Westergard, Harold Flake, Stan Tate, George Sedlmayer, Al Stillman.

Missing: Ray Beasley, Pete Peterson, Ken Smith, Harry Clark, Fred Rensmeyer, Glenn Halke, John Parkes, Bruce Yergenson, Lynn Spraque, Dick Estes, Jim Freeland, Bill Thompson, Craig DeSilvia, Jim Crockett, Stan Ramsay.


Archives and Special Collections, Eastern Washington University Libraries.


Users are responsible for assessing and/or securing use permissions. For further information, contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.

Use Permissions

Eastern Washington University has not been able to identify the copyright holder and considers this an orphan work. If you have information about the rights holder, please contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.


Smokejumping -- United States, Smokejumpers -- United States -- McCall Ranger District (Idaho)