image preview


The original is at the Alaska Smokejumper Base at Fort Wainrwight, Alaska. Digital photographs of the photoboard were donated to Eastern Washington University by the National Smokejumper Association for the purpose of posting online.

Document Type


Creation Date


Date Information



Portraits of smokejumpers from the Alaska smokejumper base. The jumpers are:

Row 1: Sandy Ahlstrom, Paul Bannister, George Battaglia, Gary Baumgartn, Tom Boatner, Charlie Brown, Ken Coe, Dan Crain

Row 2: Clay Dalen, Mitch Decoteau, Mitch Decoteau as a child, Scott Dewitz, Rod Dow, John Dube, Gary Dunning, Tom Edmonds

Row 3: Hank Falcon, Bill Ferguson, Jack Firestone, John Gould, Dave Hade, Kent Hamilton, Charles Holder, Chip Houde

Row 4: Wally Humphries, Mike Ierien, Jim Kelton, Jim Kitchen, Tom Kubichek, Jon Larson, Jon Larson, John Lyons, John McColgan

Row 5: Bert Mitman, Bruce Nelson, Jim Olson, Tony Pastro, Eric Pyne, Bob Quilin, Jim Raudenbush, Dave Righetti

Row 6: Rick Robbins, Tyler Robinson, Tom Romanello, Dalen Romero, Rene Romero, Rick Russell, Eric Schoenfeld, Al Seiler

Row 7: Chris Silks, Ed Strong, Paul Sulinski, Doug Swanter, Murray Taylor, Mel Tenneson, Steve Theisen, Rick Thompson

Row 8: Mike Tupper, Roger Vorce, Leonard Wehking, Alfred “Togie” Wiehl, Chris Woods, center photo


Archives and Special Collections, Eastern Washington University Libraries.


Eastern Washington University has not been able to identify the copyright holder and considers this an orphan work. If you have information about the the rights holder, please contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.

Use Permissions

Users are responsible for assessing and/or securing use permissions. For further information, contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.


Smokejumping -- United States, Smokejumpers -- United States -- Alaska