image preview


The original is at the Alaska Smokejumper Base at Fort Wainwright, Alaska. Digital photographs of the photoboard were donated to Eastern Washington University by the National Smokejumper Association for the purpose of posting online.

Document Type


Creation Date


Date Information



Portraits of smokejumpers from the Alaska smokejumper base. The jumpers are Don Bell, Craig Burns, Ron Lund, Bobby Karr, Bob Collins, Gary Cranquist, Tom Hilliard, Sam Houston, Al Dunton, Dave Pierce, Mike Clarkson, Jim Clairemont, Phil Clarke, Matt Kelley, Jim McGehee, Gary McMurray, Bert Hitman, Steve Nemore, Bill Neumelater, Jim Veitch, Jim Anderson, Scott Bates, Tony Beltran, Rick Blanton, Bob Quillin, Eric Schoenfeld, Mike Bordelen, Ray Brown, Lee Englesby, Brian Conger, Rod Dow, Brian Fitzsimmons, Kent Harper, Craig Herrin, C.R. Holder, Dean Howley, Steve Jakala, Doug McCoy, Dave Mellin, Jim Cleon, John Olsen, Dean Johnson, Gary Johnson, Tony Pastro, Davis Perkins, John Jones, Chuck Kase, Phil Perkins, Murry Lawson, Willy Lunden, Milf Preston, John Purlee, Bill Recinos, Rick Russel, Scott Schinolfenig, Pat Shearer, Dave Stephens, Paul Sulinski, Murray Taylor, Jon Wallock, and Charles Wilbur. The portraits were pieced together using Adobe Photoshop from portraits taken of a larger photo board delivered by Mike McMillan of the National Smokejumper Association. The arrangement of photographs may differ from the origin.


Archives and Special Collections, Eastern Washington University Libraries.


Eastern Washington University has not been able to identify the copyright holder and considers this an orphan work. If you have information about the rights holder, please contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.

Use Permissions

Users are responsible for assessing and/or securing use permissions. For further information, contact Eastern Washington University Libraries, Archives & Special Collections at (509) 359-2475.


Smokejumping -- United States, Smokejumpers -- United States -- Alaska