EWU Digital Commons

Board of Trustees Minutes

Board of Trustees Records

11-29-1976

Board of Trustees Minutes, November 29, 1976

Eastern Washington State College

Follow this and additional works at: http://dc.ewu.edu/trustees minutes

Recommended Citation

 $Board\ of\ Trustees\ Minutes,\ November\ 29,\ 1976.\ Board\ of\ Trustees\ Records,\ University\ Archives\ \&\ Special\ Collections,\ Eastern\ Washington\ University,\ Cheney,\ WA.\ http://dc.ewu.edu/trustees_minutes.$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Trustees Records at EWU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Minutes by an authorized administrator of EWU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact jotto@ewu.edu.

Agenda

Special Meeting Board of Trustees Eastern Washington State College

8:45 a.m., November 29, 1976 8:30 pm PUB COUNCIL CHAMBERS

I. New Business

A. Addition to By-Law 403.40.81, Criteria for Promotion Weighted

Sec. 1. Teaching effectiveness, 40 points. The 40 points shall be divided evenly between peer and student evaluations. There shall be a standard campus-wide instrument used for student evaluation of teaching effectiveness.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Eastern Washington State College

November 29, 1976

Special Meeting

The Board of Trustees of Eastern Washington State College held a special meeting on Monday, November 29, 1976, in the Council Chambers of the Pence Union Building on the EWSC campus.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRESENT

Mr. Jerome W. Page, Chairperson

Mrs. Frederick Wilson, Jr., Vice Chairperson

Mr. Merle W. Haffner

Mr. Bruce McPhaden

Mr. Ronald E. Robinson

STAFF PRESENT

Dr. Philip R. Marshall, Executive Vice President

Mr. Fred S. Johns, Vice President for Business & Management

Dr. Raymond P. Whitfield, Acting Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Daryl Hagie, Vice President for Student Services Mr. Kenneth R. Dolan, Secretary, Board of Trustees

Dr. Patricia Hahn, Professor of Speech Pathology & Audiology

Dr. Niel T. Zimmerman, Assistant Professor of Government

Dr. H. Kenneth Hossom, Professor of Government

Mr. Shane E. Mahoney, Assistant Professor of Government

Dr. Robert C. Herold, Chairman/ Associate Professor of Government

Dr. Raymond A. Soltero, Assistant Professor of Biology

Dr. John E. Douglas, Professor of Chemistry

Dr. Robert E. Gibbs, Chairman/ Associate Professor of Physics

Dr. Henry-York Steiner, Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Dr. Duane G. Thompson, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

PRESS PRESENT

Ms. Debbie McBride, The Spokesman-Review

BUSINESS MEETING

Chairperson Page called the meeting to order at 8:40 p.m.

ADDITION TO BY-LAW 403.40.81, CRITERIA FOR PROMOTION WEIGHTED

Motion #10-29-76-01: "(I move that) the Board of Trustees not accept the recommendation of the administration and retain the By-Laws as passed in

March of 1976."

Motion by Haffner, seconded by Robinson. Voting aye: Page, Robinson, Haffner. Voting nay: Wilson. Abstaining: McPhaden.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairperson Page called an executive session at 12:15 a.m. Page called the meeting back into regular session at 1:15 a.m.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Board of Trustees is set for Wednesday, December 15, at 9:00 a.m. in the Pence Union Building Council Chambers.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 1:15 a.m.

Jerome W. Page, Chairperson

Kenneth R. Dolan, Secretary